How to Get Your Emails Opened and Read More-Often Than Not

If they don’t read it you don’t get paid…

August Birch
3 min readApr 26, 2024
Photo by Andrew Dunstan on Unsplash

Most emails are now being delivered to the wrong location. The big email servers have locked-down, locked-up, and locked-out most commercial email from reaching your inbox — sending them to the promo folder instead.

I check my promo folder maybe once every two weeks, and I get hundreds of emails a day. Every time I look in their I sigh. Some of the biggest companies in the world have no idea (or don’t care) that they can’t reach me.

But your email doesn’t have to suffer the same fate.

Not only do you need to comply with the new Google settings for sending your marketing content, but you’ve also got to be more deliberate with your subject lines if you ever want your content to get opened and read.

Here are some tips:

  • Write as a friend, not a marketer
  • Write to create intrigue, not divulge the punchline
  • Work harder to write subject lines we haven’t seen before
  • Keep ’em short (phones truncate most subject lines around 50 characters to 70 characters)
  • Relate it loosely to your content (nonesense won’t sell anything)

--

--

August Birch

Blue-Collar Marketing Mentor for Writers and Creators | Get a copy of my free email strategy book, the Big 100 here: https://augustbirch.com/big100