How to Write a Full Novel on Your Phone

August Birch
10 min readAug 23, 2018

Do your best work using the device you always have in your pocket

How to write a novel on your phone

Warning: If the title of this story makes your stomach churn, I challenge you to look at this method with an open mind. Writers tend to be late to adopt technology. We balked when we switched from dirt drawings to cave paintings, paintings to animal skins, skins to paper, paper to typewriters, typewriters to computers — and now we’ve got the phone as our next hurdle… just wait until we start mind-writing.

I’ll admit, phone writing is not for everyone. It may not be for you. This took me a long time to accept with my own work, so I don’t expect you to shoot-off your flare guns with joy right away. But I’d like you to give it a fair try.

A bit ago I wrote a piece about what happened when I wrote my first full novel on my phone. I got a very positive response, so I figured I’d add this follow-up with all the details in case you want to try mobile writing. (You can read the piece below)

Phone writing fits my lifestyle. It may not fit yours. I’ll get into some of the BIG

--

--

August Birch

Blue-Collar Marketing Mentor for Writers and Creators | Get a copy of my free email strategy book, the Big 100 here: https://augustbirch.com/big100